The Director NMIMR

Professor Dorothy Yeboah-Manu

Our Story

The Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research (NMIMR) set up in 1979 as a semi-autonomous institute of the University is the leading biomedical research facility in Ghana. The Institute is the result of joint efforts by Prof. E. O. Easmon, former Dean of the University of Ghana Medical School, Prof. Kenji Honda of Fukushima Medical School in Japan, and the Japan International Co-operation Agency (JICA). It was built by the Government of Japan and donated to the Government and people of Ghana in honour of the distinguished Japanese researcher Dr. Hideyo Noguchi, who researched yellow fever in Ghana and died from the disease in the country in 1928.

The overall mandate of the Institute is to conduct research into diseases of public health importance, train postgraduate students in biomedical sciences and support the public health programmes of the Ministry of Health and Ghana Health Service. Specifically, this involved:

  • Conducting research into communicable and non-communicable diseases.
  • Providing training opportunities in biomedical research for undergraduate and postgraduate students.
  • Providing high-end laboratory diagnostic and monitoring and surveillance services in support of national public health

The Institute is headed by a Director appointed by the University Council to exercise overall responsibility for both the scientific and administrative functions of the Institute. The Institute Administrator, Nine Heads of Department and the Assistant Registrar assist in the performance of this function. The Institute has well-qualified scientists with expertise in diverse areas of health research who head various programs and an array of technicians, pharmacists, etc. supporting the work.

Our Mission

Improving the health and wellbeing of Ghanaians and mankind through focused and relevant quality biomedical research, human resource development and support of national public health activities.

Our Vision

To be a leading global medical research centre.

Past Directors